Skip to content

Home!

December 16, 2009

Where I’ve been in the past 2 weeks since my parents flew home:

2 Dec to 6 Dec: Bicheno and Hobart, Tasmania
6 Dec to 11 Dec: Port Douglas and Cairns, Queensland
11 Dec to 14 Dec: Sydney

It’s my first full day back and I haven’t really ventured out in the world — the American world — yet.

My bed at home is downright luxurious, though, and it’s been ages since I took a shower with bare feet. Even in Perth I used slippers because my feet were always cold. There’s food in the kitchen and I didn’t need to buy it! It’s almost as exciting as finding food labeled FREE in hostels.

Also, I have so, so, much stuff at home. Before I left I couldn’t imagine living out of 1 suitcase for 5 months, but now I’m home I realize how much stuff was in my room: clothes I don’t wear, memorabilia, trinkets, and documents everywhere. I need to throw it all away before I get too attached to all of it again. Since I had organized my room a bit right before I left, going through all my shelves was like going through a sister’s room. I recognized most of the stuff but hadn’t thought about it in 5 months and wouldn’t be able to tell you where to find it.

I’m going through photos slowly and will post more in the coming weeks. Here’s a teaser of my last 2 weeks in Australia!

Tasmania countryside, bussing from Launceston to Bicheno on the first day there:


Eating croc burgers in Queensland with my cousins (on the right) and a lady they met at the airport and again on the dive boat (on the left):


In Sydney, people in front of Town Hall stand together to support the “350” movement during Cophenhagen. The movement supports a limit of 350 ppm carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Kevin Rudd is Australia’s prime minister.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sylvia permalink
    December 17, 2009 14:26

    i’m a pack rat, and you can imagine how my room looks like at my oakland home. now, when i go back home for the weekend or for break, i throw/recycle things bit by bit. seriously, i still have all the snail mails i have received from friends (not planning to recycle those though!!) good luck in sorting through your stuff at home ^_^

    and WELCOME BACK DAPHNE!

Leave a Reply

