Skip to content

Cheesecake and Teaching Week 3.

August 2, 2009

But actually the beginning of my fifth week in Australia.

I’m procrastinating on my 400 pages of reading for tomorrow, and I really, really want some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.

I have a cheesecake cooling in the fridge waiting to be topped by candied kumquats.  The recipe says to chill overnight, but is that really necessary? I think I put the cheesecake in the fridge about 4 PM, so it’s been 5 hours already…yeah, I’m pretty sure I’m going to cut it up tonight, especially if friends come over later.

To blog: pre-study abroad interview, classes, environmental attitudes/behavior, Australia as a melting pot, photos, public transit

Some slang/pronounciation I’ve noticed, be it Australian or Singaporean:

Academic terms: I am currrently in the Faculty (College) of Agricultural and Natural Sciences, doing a course (major) in Environmental Science, taking four units (courses).

aluMINium – aLUminum
vase (vah-s) – vase (vay-s)
arvo = afternoon
goodonya = good for you
no worries = you’re welcome
have a think = think through it (and come up with a good response)
footpath = sidewalk
carpark = parking lot
flour (some other pronunciation) = flour (pronounced as flower)
compulsory = mandatory (as in, “a mandatory unit” is a “compulsory unit”)
on offer = on sale (as in, “just buy whatever is on offer!”)
cornflour = cornstarch (hella confusing, because at first I thought cornflour meant corn flour.)
globes = light bulbs
rubbish bin = trash can
lift = elevator
toilet = restroom
mobile = cellphone
cinema = movie theatre
Mostly you can always figure out what the other person is talking about; it’s cool seeing what other people’s speaking habits are like.

What I use for conversions:

1 AUD = 0.8 USD
1 m = 3 feet
Km * 5/3 = mile
kg /2 = pound
21 degrees C is 70 degrees F, 10 degrees C is 50 degrees F, 4 degrees C is cold.
25 grams = 1 oz. (The recipes posted in metric call for the weights of ingredients in grams, instead of in volumes of cups or weights in ounces.  I can still use measuring spoons for some ingredients, such as baking soda and vanilla extract.)

Yeah, I spent so long putting together this post I might as well’ve written up a proper update/report/reflection, but oh well. Hope you guys are having a lovely weekend 😀

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sophia permalink
    August 2, 2009 18:06

    DAMN i want some cheesecake!!

    and LOL the word list made me crack upppp haahahahah

  2. Aster permalink
    August 8, 2009 01:34

    Haha, your word list is so right and it can still go on like sweets-candies, taxi-cab.. I was stunned when my floormate didn’t understand me when i said ‘handphone’. it also took me some time to get used to seeing traffic on the right side of the road. but the hardest for me temperature conversion. till now i still don’t know whether 60 degrees F is hot or cold! I always have to check the weather in deg C 😛

  3. Katherine permalink
    August 8, 2009 09:37

    useful! day of conversion. and cake!

Leave a Reply

