Skip to content

Packing; 24 hrs.

July 8, 2009

For SFO-SYD (on Qantas), I can check two pieces of baggage, up to 50 lbs. total.

For SYD-PER (on Virgin Blue), I can check one piece of baggage, up to 50 lbs. total.

Qantas charges $50/extra piece; Virgin Blue charges $10/extra kg.  I have about 60 lbs. right now. I haven’t packed yet laptop, camera, external hardrive (new! 320 gb for $70 from Fry’s), towel, or laundry detergent. My friend E is a master at packing and managed to stick everything in one suitcase today, but now I have to unpack all her work to cut out that extra weight.

edit: I think it’s impossible to pack 5 months into 50 lbs. Winter clothes, summer clothes, semi-formal clothes, socks, underwear, energy bars, first-aid kit, SHOES (boots, nice shoes, flipflops, wearing my hiking boots and carrying on my flats…guess if I need running shoes I’ll buy them there), pillow case, makeup, dance shoes, swimsuit, water sneakers, tea, travel book. Seriously, 50 lbs. is not enough. AND I know I will accumulate much stuff while there, so there will be no way I will still be around 50 lbs. by then. Bummer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sylvia permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:54

    good to hear that you have safely landed at australia!! i think you are able to pay for the extra baggage, if not, maybe mailing it home can be an option (although pricey). packing for an adventure is exciting; being good at playing tetris is a plus. 😀 but at the end of your australian expedition, i’m sure you will be an experienced packer!

    ❤ from the other side of pacific

  2. Sophia permalink
    July 15, 2009 22:19

    i hate math so half this post didn’t make sense to me

    also, water sneakers?!

Leave a Reply

